Tour Downunder 2009

I took 308 photos and about ten little videos. We covered more than 700 km in less than four days with the Campervan and woke up every morning in an unbelievably beautiful countryside.

I rode about 100km, mostly uphill and managed to get a sunburn and very obvious tan lines in South Australia’s scorching heat despite slapping on tons of sunscreen.

I met fellow blogger Buttsy and blog readers.

I witnessed awesome racing action and soaked in the atmosphere and hustle and bustle of professional bike racing. I saw lance Armstrong less than ten meters away from me but missed to see my favourite German rider Jens Voigt.

We indulged in great food, cheeses and wines and beer.

Alberto had a chance of catching up with long time friends and I finally met people I had heard so much about.

I’m so full of impressions and have so many stories to tell that I don’t know where to start. We had such a great time and are making already plans for next year.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Cycling in Australia, Cycling in South Australia. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Tour Downunder 2009

  1. KaliDurga says:

    It looks like a fantastic trip! I hope that one day the TDU will be broadcast like the TdF, so that we can all see that beautiful countryside (and, oh yeah, the bike race, too!).

  2. Itchy Bits says:

    Lucky girl! Lance was twittering that it was a HARD race. Harder than he expected.

  3. Will says:

    congratsSounds like a great time, and there are some wonderful photos.

  4. Melanie says:

    wow, sounds like an amazing time! Looking forward to the other stories! and pics!

  5. Kylie says:

    Glad you had a good time at the Tour. Check out my blog for a pic of Jens, we saw him a couple of time and the person i was with said hello and got a wave back! :o)

  6. Groover says:

    KaliDurga – It was fantastic and I will write up a few stories in the next few days.Itchy Bits – I think the heat would have made it quite tough. It was cool seeing him attack on the hills and in the final criterium in Adelaide. Boy, his speed is incredible.Will – There are more photos to come. Melanie – Stay tuned. First I must pop over and see how your heartrate training is going.Kylie – I can’t wait to read your post even so I’m a tiny weeny bit jealous that you saw the big German. 🙂

  7. I’ve enjoyed the photos you shared in the slide show. Lots and lots of cyclists too. That’s a big event.

  8. Ant says:

    Hi Sandra, it looks like you had a fantastic stay in Adel, what a pity our schedules didn’t line up! I hope you’ve headed home, it hit 43C here today.I had an awesome time watching as well, next year I’ll do it properly and watch more (plus ride to more stages as well!)

  9. Thank you so much for sharing your photo’s, I can hardly wait to read about your adventures!Thanks!!

  10. rick is! says:

    sweet looking rig you had for the trip.

  11. Jackie says:

    Man, my man Lance will be here with Astana next month, but sounds like you guys wore him out! Why don’t you head on over for the Tour of California?

  12. Groover says:

    Lisa – It was so hard to choose the photos from so many. Ant – Yes, we are already making plans for next year and we will definitely catch up then, if not before. I will certainly hang around you since you are meeting the really cool riders! :-)Lily – Thanks for your kind words and I’m glad you liked the pictures.Bluenoser – Indeed!Rick – I love my Time! It’s the most beautiful ride, ever!Jackie – I’d love to, believe me. I could easily do this for three weeks … or three months … or three years … 🙂

  13. zanne says:

    What a fun trip!

  14. zanne says:

    i had missed some of the first few pics the first time – LOVE the camper van! my husband would LOVE to do a trip like that … he loves those euro style vans too …

Leave a Reply

