2009 Tour of Bright – Intro

Tonight I remembered a story in a cycling magazine that I read a while ago. The author, and I’m quoting very loosely here because I cannot remember, which magazine it was, wrote that ‘it didn’t matter what place you finish in a race but as what person you roll over the finish line’.

While I like the notion, I thought of it as a real ‘looser statement’. Come on! “Sorry, I didn’t win but I’m a much better person for trying”. Of course you are, we are, everybody is! It’s stating the obvious.

But.

We line up to win!

Alberto asked me on that long drive back from Bright to Melbourne what the most memorable moment was of this year’s Tour of Bright. Crossing the finishing line on top of Mt Hotham, of course, was just as emotional as last year but there were a few experiences along the road that will stay with me for some time to come.

2009 has been a rollercoaster year and the 2009 Tour of Bright was some sort of culmination of great challenges and some unexpected achievements, extending past who I think I was and what I was able to do, and not just on the bike.

I didn’t win and I don’t know whether I’m a better person now but I stepped up and that’s the most memorable thing about the past couple of days and maybe the past 12 months. 2009 wasn’t a bad year at all and the 2009 Tour of Bright … well, I’m still trying to find the words to describe this amazing experience.

Posted by Picasa
Gallery | This entry was posted in Cycling in Australia, Cycling in Victoria. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 2009 Tour of Bright – Intro

  1. Those are some great pictures, and I great quote! Glad you did the race, can't wait to hear the rest of it!

  2. Anonymous says:

    The fact that you participated at all after the knock backs you've had this year and that you stepped up and extended yourself is more important than winning. Winning is a funny thing – if you keep on doing it, you move up to a higher level and better competitors, in whatever sport it may be, until you stop winning (unless you are a Roger Federer, Alberto Contador, Usain Bolt). There will always be someone better than you so winning your personal challenges, giving it your all and sharing amazing experiences is what counts, I think.Well done for doing that.

  3. …my "take" on all of this as the new year is about to make itself felt ???……we, all of us who follow your site & know of the trials & tribulations you've been through, particularly this year, are made more relevant in our own lives by taking the time to understand what we see through you……we all gain insight as regards ourselves through involvement w/ others……i think that's true in sharing relationships w/ anyone, be it through blog sites or not…perhaps the deeper the relationship, the more we have to both gain & offer but there is always a pertinent relevancy……so, thanks for sharing……& while i'm sure we'll learn more about it, glad you had a memorable & amazing 'tour of bright'…

  4. Lawrence says:

    I asked of my friend I was soigning for at TOB, why do we enter a race, that has over 550 competitors? It's not to win for 542 of them, so it's for some other reason.Those (real) reasons are deep and personal, frequently so far from being articulated it's not worth the angst of trying. They just are.We race because we can. We relish the challenges such an event throws up. Sometimes it helps put things into perspective, sometimes it's for an emotional and phyical relase, sometimes it's to toughen ourselves up further, sometimes it's to prove to ourselves how human we are ie something unique and special in the world. Often it's all of the above, and then some.Congratulations for finishing as you did Sandra. I'm sorry I didn't get to say hello. It was a fantastic weekend, and everyone who raced did something special for themselves.

  5. Bluenoser says:

    Yes Groover, it has been quite a year all round. You did roll up to the line and that is the biggest part of the battle.I'm with bikes, I can feel a big year coming.-B

  6. SueP says:

    Some races we line up to win, but some we line up to build the strength, stamina, race tactics and experience to win the ones we line up to win.Great race, great weekend, great bunch to ride with. See you next year to ponder once again why we do this?

  7. Anonymous says:

    Well done Sandra. I feel overwhelemd for you that you have 'finished' the year with Bright Tour…knowing the year 'we' have all had….Awesome. Miff ;-x

  8. Judi says:

    i can't wait to hear your RR. amazing photos…

  9. kate says:

    brilliantly written post groover. to slightly miss quote someone else, it's not always about the bike or the ride but that other slightly less tangible stuff that goes though your head. can't wait for the follow up 🙂

Leave a Reply

