Gibraltar Range Climb

Another Grafton to Inverell came and went and it was another satisfying weekend with lots of nervous energy, social chats, windburned lips and tired riders (and helpers). I’m not going to write about the race, nor will I sing praise to the tireless helpers but I will rather self-indulgently write about the best part of the entire weekend: How I got to ride the Gibraltar Range myself.

Twice I had driven up this beautiful 17 km steady climb and both times I thought to myself that I will probably never get to ride the Gibraltar Range. It’s the feature climb of ‘Grafton to Inverell’ race and with 68 km from the start and still over 100 km from the finish; whichever way you go, it’s too far to return after an exhausting weekend.

So when Alberto suggested to leave Inverell early on Sunday morning and drive to the top of the range, park the car and ride down and up the range before heading home, he didn’t need to ask twice:

Gallery | This entry was posted in Cycling in Australia, Cycling in Queensland. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Gibraltar Range Climb

  1. When I first watched this, I went "whoa, down the left side of the road…" and then I remembered that that's the right side down under! It looks like a great ride. What's the gradient?

  2. Groover says:

    Once Known as The Badger – Everytime I looked down it was 6 or 7% but there are also some 3% sections and the switch backs are 8%. It's a lovely lovely climb and I'm so glad I got to ride it. The bird sounds and rainforest … it's such a beautiful area.

  3. …hey, lookit dat !!!…two 'kids at heart' just out there enjoying each other & the awesome ride……couldn't be nicer, couldn't ask for more…

  4. Miff says:

    Climbing high! Climbing is oh-so much fun. Especially with your oh-so-the-one. Keep climbing. High. Miff

  5. Oh yeah, I love this area as well and the NP is as great for bushwalking as it is for riding ;-)Looks like you both had lots of fun after an exhausting weekend, that's great to see!

  6. kate says:

    awesome! your smile says it all, totally right about heart rates. it the smile factor that matters 🙂

  7. Red Bike says:

    What a great ride. Sadly we don't have many long continous gradient hills like that here in England. (Plenty of short steep one though.)

  8. Groover says:

    bgw – Maybe just not quite as innocent. LOL But you are perfectly right: I couldn't have possibly asked for me. Miff – Wanna climb with you, girl. When's that arm sling-free again? Nils and Anke – It was great that it worked out and we could catch up for a coffee in Lennox Head. You are right, it's a beautiful area and it was so much greener this year. All I remembered from last year was yellow burnt endlessness. On my way to the first feed I stopped at that Boundary Waterfall on top of the range. Do you know it? It had heaps of water coming down and I was tempted to go for a swim. Didn't have my swimmers and wasn't game enough to just skinny-dip… I'd love to explore the hikes, too.Kate – Smile rate was definitely in the healthy zone and got a good workout. 🙂

  9. Red Bike says:

    I could have sworn I left a comment earlier, oh well. That range looks amazing. Sadly we haven't got many (any) 18km continous climbs here in the UK. All are major climbs tend to be short and steep and in comparison

  10. Stuart says:

    Awesome looking ride! Big smiles and small rings!

  11. Miff says:

    Hmmm, well. With a smile like that how can a girl refuse……;-) hoping next few weeks,,,,, BUT build will all be on ST…..so that means…… you'll ride ST with me….AWESOME!

  12. I enjoyed having you here, too. Next time it has to be much longer though!No, I haven't been to the Boundary Falls yet, we paused at a lookout once and did a bit of hiking there and that was really stunning. So whenever you're ready to explore, we are 😉

  13. Judi says:

    loved the video!

  14. AMR says:

    So many more climbs to enjoy…

  15. Groover says:

    Red Bike – You must have commented at exactly the same time as I was writing replies because those comments crossed each other. We don't have any such long climbs in the immediate vicinity of Brisbane (you'll have to drive to the Gold Coast or Sunshine Coast hinterland to get to longer climbs) hence my delight to be able to climb this range. It's about 450 km south of Brisbane.Stuart – Big rings actually if you pay close attention to AMR's cassette. :-)Miff – Oh, uh … ST? My mind is more on SS. 🙂 Better get the Mango Giant ready then but be easy on me once you fly again. Slingfree freedom can do that to you. Make you fly again. LOLNils and Anke – Promised, next time we bring the surfboard instead of the bikes. 🙂 Check out the falls when you are up there next. It's well worth the stop and the short hike. Judi – Glad you did. AMR – With you anytime! 🙂

  16. Sprocketboy says:

    Looks like a lot of fun, and far better than sitting in the rain in Dusseldorf! Deep green envious.

Leave a Reply

